© Early game viewing experience of Kruger Park
Kruger Park History encompasses ancient history, landmarks, historical figures and attractions. Read more about Kruger Park history in the fascinating articles below or peruse by category:
Kruger Park Historical Figures
Kruger Park Historical Landmarks
Game Reserve Formation
Vintage Kruger Park Ranger Journals
Ancient Kruger Park History
The Stone Age spans a lengthy period - from about 2 million years ago. Learn more about the Early Stone Age that gets its name from the use of simple stone tools and how people lived.
Divisions into the early, middle and late Stone Age exist, according to the complexity of the tools used. Find out more about the Middle Stone Age as tools became more sophisticated and smaller.
During the Later Stone Age, from about 40,000 years ago, a wide range of bone and wooden tools was use. Find out more interesting facts about the Late Stone Age characterised by the habitation of the area by the San.
The name Iron Age was derived from the fact that the people of this era developed the ability to make weapons and tools from metal. Explore the Iron Age and how they manufactured pottery containers.
The Transvaal was one of the provinces of South Africa from 1910 until 1994. Learn more about the Transvaal Republic and what provinces it forms part of now.
In June 1913, TJ Kleinenberg, the council member for Soutpansberg, put forward the idea that the Sabie and Singwidzi Game Reserves should be nationalised. Find out more about the Kruger Park Proclamation.
With the forming of the Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park, large, unsustainable herds of animals in Kruger Park can now be translocated to near-virgin bush. Learn more about the Modernization of Kruger Park.
The decline in wildlife numbers was due to the agricultural transformation and industrialisation of the Transvaal and white hunters. Find out more about Game Conservation and all you need to know about the early days.
A brief history of Alf Roberts who ran a trading post called Tengamanzi in the 1880's near the Crocodile River in Kruger Park. Find out more about Alf Roberts and how he is remembered.
Duke's windmill, was also named after one of Kruger National Park's earliest rangers, Tom Duke. Learn more about Dukes Windmill that was based at Lower Sabie between 1903 and 1923.
The Engelhard Dam is a large concrete weir in the Letaba River, and is named for an American millionaire businessman. Find out more about Engelhard Dam and explore some self-drive routes.
Naturally, Paul Kruger is, himself, memorialised at the Park, both with the Kruger Monument, and the Kruger memorial tablet. Find out more about the Kruger Memorial and what it commemorate.
The ruins of Makahane lie northeast of Punda Maria, next to the Levuvhu River, and the dwelling place of the Vhalembethu. Learn more about Makahane and who settled there.
In the shock waves following the rise of the Zulu kingdom early in the 19thCentury, Masorini ended as a settlement. Explore Masorini that's situated some 11km from the Phalaborwa Gate.
Skukuza Restcamp is also home to some Prospector's graves. Many of the graves from the gold rush days are unnamed. Most face east to west but some face north to south. Learn more about Prospectors Graves.
This was the original entrance gate to the central region, onto the old Orpen road to the east of the N'wamatsatsa Drift. Find out more about Rabelais Gate named after the original farm it's situated.
Sardelli was a trader who ran a shack in the Lebombo near the Zenga-Zenga Mountain. Learn more about Sardellis Store that was a trader who ran a shack in the Lebombo near the Zenga-Zenga Mountain.
Learn about the interesting history of Skukuza in Kruger National Park, South Africa. The Skukuza Camp was originally known as Sabie Bridge or simply Reserve and changed to Skukuza in 1936.
The first family to be associated with the Stols Nek area was the Stols family, originally from the White River area. Find out more about the Stols Nek as they were famous hunters and wagon makers.
The historical Struben Family Cottage in Skukuza is named after the Struben brothers. They arrived in South Africa from Germany in about 1840. Learn more about Struben Cottage ad its history.
At sites such as Thulamela, in the north of the Park, evidence of this bustling trade still. Explore the brief history of Thulamela and evidence of previous trade still in existence today.
James Stevenson-Hamilton born in Scotland was the eldest of nine children. He came to South Africa in 1888. Learn more about James Stevenson-Hamilton the first warden of Kruger National Park.
Malelane Restcamp has a hut named for Harold Trollope, a big game hunter and one of the original owners of the Camelthorn Reserve. Find out more about the history of Harold Trollope.
One of Kruger Park's most famous stories is the 1904 saga of Harry Wolhuter, one of the Park's first rangers. Learn more about Harry Wolhuter originally known as Wolhuter's Hut.
A brief history about JH Orpen and his wife Eileen, after whom Orpen Restcamp and Orpen Gate, in Kruger National Park are named. Find out more about JH Orpen especially their historty.
Ludorf was a staunch nationalist and sometime chairperson of the National Parks Board. Learn more about Joe Ludorf with this brief history in the Kruger National Park.
Albasini was born 1 May 1813, in Lisbon, Portugal. He came to Lourenço Marques in 1831 and became a slave trader and Elephant hunter. Learn more with this brief history about Joäo Albasini
Leonard Henry Ledeboer came from Holland as a young man in 1888. He hunted elephants with such well-known characters as Frederick Courtney Selous. Learn more about Leonard Henry Ledeboer.
Paul Kruger was born on October 10 1825 at his grandfather's farm, Bulhoek in the Steynsburg district and grew up on the farm, Vaalbank. Find out more about Paul Kruger and his history.
Von Wielligh was one of the original surveyors in the area, and who carved his name on the tree in 1891, there is even a historical Baobab tree near the confluence of the Olifants Rivers. Find out more about Von Wiellighs Baobab.
FitzPatrick was born in King William's Town 24 July 1862 (and died at Amanzi (Uitenhage) 24 January 1931). View this timeline of Sir Percy FitzPatrick and learn more of him.
Thomas Hart was a ‘stationmaster' on trade route to Delagoa Bay who was shot at the age of 22. Learn more about Thomas Hart that was a was a 'stationmaster' on trade route to Delagoa Bay.
He made several donations, and one of these huts was turned into a museum at Skukuza Rest Camp. Learn more about W.A. Campbell that made many donations towards rest camps.
William Lloyd's grave is still at Satara next to the road from the camp, and the area Ranger's house. Find out more about William Lloyd and his history in the Kruger National Park.