Malelane Section Named Best Ranger Station in Kruger Park

Malelane section was named best ranger station in the Kruger National Park for 2009/10. Section ranger, Don English, and his field rangers accepted the award at the annual Kruger National Park Achievement Awards which took place on Friday, 16 April 2010 in Skukuza.

©Laura Mukhwevo, Lynette Strauss

Lindiwe Ngobo, Sgt Isaac Hlongwane, Samuel Milani and Enock Manyiqe each received a bravery award for protecting guests and colleagues, often at grave risk of their own lives.

Wolhuter received the Wilderness Trails Camp of the Year award, and the Shop of the Year award went to Berg en Dal. Nxanatseni Region's Sirheni scooped the Bush Camp of the Year award while Phalaborwa was nominated as best entrance gate." Letaba was the best camp for the year, and Nxanatseni the best region.

The "Department of the Year" award went to finance while the "Special Team Effort" award this year went to veterinary wildlife services and the "Concession of the Year" award went to Tinga Concession, which is situated near Skukuza.

©Laura Mukhwevo, Lynette Strauss

The Honorary Rangers, who have over the years continued to donate goods worth millions in support of the Kruger National Park on a voluntary basis without expecting anything in return, received an appreciation award, as did Nestle.

This year's event also included the "Managing Executive Special Awards" with Johnson Khoza receiving an individual special award for his efforts in sorting out the administration of the warehouse during the past year.

The Public Relations Department also received a special award for the manner in which the department kept the Kruger National Park Achievement Awards going for the past 11 years without any serious financial cost to the organization.

The third special award went to the rangers and environmental crime and investigations staff for their effort in combating the escalating poaching incidences in the park particularly rhino poaching.

©Laura Mukhwevo, Lynette Strauss

Individual awards were given to the following people who showed "Outstanding Service in the Work Place":

Aurel Nyambi, Ben du Plessis, Annah Mlangeni, Dr Sam Ferreira, Dr Izak Smit, Victoria Nxumalo, Sinna Mphatse, Itumeleng Khadambi, Gerson Sekwena, John Mnyuku, Amon Sibuyi, George Sibuyi, Mbongeni Tukela, Amos Tivane, Edward Masambu, Thomas Macie, Silas Mukoki, Rodney Landela and Tebogo Maboko.

Individual Awards for "Outstanding Service to Tourists/Clients/Customers" were given to the following individuals: Nicolaas Coetzee, Kally Ubisi, Saul Hlatshwayo, Samson Mabasa, Frank Mbungela, Rodgers Hobyane.

"The word success is generally associated with hard work, though the word itself is easy to find in the dictionary, but attaining the actual success is definitely never an easy thing, hence I would like to congratulate our staff members received awards", said the KNP Managing Executive, Mr Abe Sibiya in his welcome address.

Game Drive from Malelane Gate

Malelane Gate is on the Crocodile River, about 50km upstream from Crocodile Bridge. Be warned, it is one of Kruger's busiest gates and there...more
Kruger National Park - South African Safari