KNP Achieverment Awards 2010-2011

Sergeant Wilson Siwela from Crocodile Bridge Ranger Section was the worthy recipient of the Kruger Cross, the Kruger National Park's (KNP) highest award for bravery and courage.

Wilson was recognised for his exceptional conduct when he laid his life on the line by confronting five armed suspected poachers during a patrol earlier this year.

The 12th KNP Achievement Awards took place on September 6, 2011 in Skukuza. The annual awards ceremony is a highlight on the staff calendar.

"Most of you work very hard throughout the year, even going beyond your normal call of duty. You therefore deserve recognition for your hard work and that is why we are saying thank you for the wonderful job that you are doing for this organisation," said the KNP managing executive, Mr Abe Sibiya in his key-note address.

The Ranger Post of the Year award went to N'wanetsi. Nxanatseni Region's Shingwedzi scooped the Camp of the Year award, while Giriyondo received the Gate of the Year award and the Bush Camp of the Year went to Shimuwini.

The Department of the Year award went to Scientific Services while the Special Team Effort award this year went to Stolznek and Malelane Ranger.

The SABC's Ligwalagwala FM and Phalaborwa Community Radio station each received the Appreciation Awards in recognition of their broadcast support for the KNP's programs and projects in the past and present.

Mkhuhlu Taxi Association also received the Appreciation Award for lending and supplying efficient public transport support to KNP staff over the years.

The event also included the Managing Executive Special Awards with Patrick Munyai, Robert Phoku, Romeo Mudlhovu and Januario Fernandes receiving individual special awards for their outstanding service in the workplace, effort and willingness to always go the extra mile.

Individual awards were given to the following people who showed Outstanding Service in the Work Place:
Ephraim Malebe, Martin Misimeki, Jacobus Petrus Jacobs, Brenda Mashele, Samson Mashabane, Renate Ackermann, Marie Ramsden, Johan Saita Baloyi, Jacques Venter, Tinyiko Msetweni, Deborah Mazibane, Mari Morland, Primrose Mpangane, Edward Shabangu, Orance Cubai, Jonas Mujovu, Mphephu Nghonyama, Piet Mboweni, Johnston Zitha, Stella Ngomane, Silas Mukoki, Trix Olivier, Eric Maluleke and Timothy Chauke.

Individual Awards for Outstanding Service to Tourists/Clients/Customers were given to the following individuals:
Andrea Mabunda, Linda Nyathi, Tebalelo Ramabulana, Eliab Khoza, Edward Ndlovu, Rodgers Hobyane, Ellina Mona, Frank Mabasa, Nostah Mgiba and David Sambo.

Kruger National Park - South African Safari